Guitar Hero for the iPhone

Role: Game Designer

Concise

  • Created challenges, achievement based rewards earned throughout the game.
  • Designed a challenge suggestion system to provide more meaningful gameplay suggestions.
  • Organized and conducted focus testing and gather feedback to minimize any barrier of entry.
  • Named all of the character parts and instruments.
  • Designed the tutorial.

Story

I created achievement based challenges for Guitar Hero iPhone and a system that suggests songs and challenges the player would be interested in playing. Due to my background on Guitar Hero: On Tour (DS Guitar Hero that uses a touch screen interface), I was asked to conduct focus testing to fine-tune the gameplay and make it as easy to pickup as possible. The results of the testing lead to major changes in the game’s UI and gameplay. I also designed the tutorial. My favorite task though was naming all of the character parts and instruments in the game. I also wrote brief descriptions for each item.

