Scripting a boss battle sounds like potential insubordination to a regular HR lady. (By the way, EVERY place I have interviewed/spoke to has an HR lady, apparently there are no men in the field of human resources.)

Biggest difference:

Game studios want to see a big fat list of shipped titles. The resume should read like a Gamestop shopping list. However, that list will only bore a non-game industry employer.

  • I have two resumes, one for game jobs and another for non.

To non-game industry people, everyone thinks you’re either a programmer or a 3D animator. On a real world resume, definitely list things like “great analytical skills”. To me, that sounds so blah, but I’ve been told by HR friends that that is THEE statement to have on your resume, that employers will respond with “where have you been all my life?”

Game industry vets understand that there are many different games out there and developers wear many hats in this industry. Especially with design. Not saying anything bad about other disciplines, just that a designer’s daily tasks can change drastically depending on the project. A non game industry interviewer asked me what my daily tasks were as a designer; I said I wrote a lot of documents and made sure the game was fun. As a designer, I’ve designed levels for Transformers, wrote funny lines for Mixed Messages, analyzed touch screen input and named almost every hair-style in Guitar Hero. My daily tasks changed monthly–and I liked it that way.

There is no industry like the games industry. Ok, maybe there are similarities in film and television. It is an industry of allure–games call to people, making big promises of fame and self-expression. People don’t join because it is a stable job (it isn’t). It’s not a career, it’s a life-style. How do you put that passion on a resume? That is the biggest thing game industry interviewers look for in potential hires: PASSION.

